Announcement: filtering posts to avoid dubious publishers

I have been made aware of Jeffrey Beall’s excellent list of “potential, possible, or probable predatory scholarly open-access publishers.”  As the number of obvious fly-by-night publishers increases (exponentially, these days, it seems) so too does the risk that academics will end up with a weakened publication record if they fall for this scam.

So I will be checking publishers associated with CFPs that I might post here against Beall’s list.  If the publisher is on the list, the CFP will not be posted here.  I would encourage all my co-authors and readers to keep an eye out.  No one’s perfect, and something might get past me.  If you notice something weird in any of the CFPs posted (with respect to Beall’s list), please let me know by email and I will investigate.

About Fil Salustri
I'm a design methodologist and Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Toronto Metropolitan University, Toronto, Canada. Adjectives that describe me include: secular humanist, meritocrat, and long-winded. Some people call me a positivist too, as if that were a bad thing. Go figure. My real home page is http://deseng.ryerson.ca/~fil.

One Response to Announcement: filtering posts to avoid dubious publishers

  1. Clio Padovani says:

    I wish to express my sincere thanks for this invaluable site and service- whihc has brought many opportunties.

Leave a comment